Caroline Crane, Author

portraitSince the age of ten, what I wanted most was to be an actress. Throughout my teens, I wrote, directed, and starred in plays with my relatives and friends. At Bennington College, I majored in drama.

Soon after graduation, the acting bug left me and the writing bug took over.  For one thing, I was better at it. My first six novels were for young adults, published by Doubleday, David McKay, and Random House. My seventh was rejected, and I spent the next several years trying to break into adult mystery writing. Finally I was picked up by Dodd, Mead, which became my regular publisher until it was cleaned out by a venture capitalist.

Now, for the time being, I am back to writing for young adults. My publisher is Fire and Ice, a branch of Melange Books in Minnesota.

While all this was going on, I married Yoshio Kiyabu, of Okinawan descent and Hawaiian birth. He was a travel agent in New York City, where we lived and raised two children. Now widowed, I live in the Catskill area near my daughter and her family, and I still write for Fire and Ice. Recently I received an email from a fan who begged me to write more adult books. After four more young adult novels that rattle around in my head, I will definitely go back to adult suspense.

The books I have recently written are a series about two teenage girls who, in an effort to right wrongs, get themselves into perilous situations. In the one I am working on now, the heroine tries to find a little boy she was babysitting for who didn’t come home on the school bus. In the book whose cover is pictured here, she discovers she had a brother she didn’t know about and he is suspected of murder. The body was found in his car.

The books are published by Fire and Ice and are available, in both print and electronic versions, from lulu.co and from Amazon.com.

LINK TO MY WEBSITE

BOOK COVERIn Under Cover, a high school youth is found dead in a car. It makes news, but has nothing to do with our heroine, Cree Penny. Until her father comes all the way from Borneo, where he has been living. It doesn’t take Cree long to discover that the owner of the car is a half-brother she didn’t know she had. This pulls her deep into the mystery, until she and her brother are tied up in the basement of a school in which explosives are set.

 

2 thoughts on “Caroline Crane, Author

Please leave a comment!

